An internal investigation by the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) has revealed that match referee Andy Pycroft showed partiality during Pakistan’s recent match against India and allegedly colluded with Indian officials. According to sources, the inquiry confirmed that Pycroft violated the code of conduct on multiple occasions during the game.
The report states that at the time of the toss, Pycroft instructed Pakistani player Salman Ali Agha to switch off his microphone and listen to him—an action that goes against established rules. The investigation also found that the referee told Salman Agha not to shake hands with India’s Suryakumar Yadav. However, under ICC regulations, a match referee is not authorized to give such direct instructions to players or captains on the field.
The probe further revealed that preventing Salman Agha from speaking certain words just 30 seconds before the match was a “pre-planned” move to avoid any potentially controversial reaction. Additionally, sources claimed that Pycroft shielded Indian batsman Suryakumar Yadav from disciplinary action for using the phrase “Operation Sindoor,” deliberately overlooking the remark to help the player avoid a fine.
According to the report, accepting Pakistan’s request to change the referee would be an acknowledgment that India’s agenda had been exposed. These revelations have sparked questions about the transparency and impartiality of both the ACC and the ICC, with cricket fans demanding that the full details be made public.
Earlier, the International Cricket Council (ICC) officially rejected the Pakistan Cricket Board’s (PCB) demand to remove Andy Pycroft from the ongoing Asia Cup 2025, escalating tensions between the cricketing body and Pakistan. The ICC allegedly clarified that Pycroft was simply following instructions from ACC officials, who had decided there would be no handshakes at the toss. However, the controversy deepened after the match when the Indian team, led by Suryakumar Yadav, reportedly refused to shake hands with the Pakistani team. In response, the PCB threatened to boycott their remaining matches in the tournament if Pycroft is not removed. The ICC has, however, reaffirmed that Pycroft will continue to officiate.

